Admissions Committee

The Graduate Committees (one for each wing) are responsible for making recommendations to the Department Chair regarding admission to the graduate program and student financial support. Admission spreadsheets are assembled or updated by the Graduate Program Coordinator. Committee members read the application material and together rank the candidates in order of potential success in the program, and appropriate advisor. On the basis of ranking the committees recommend students for admission and, selectively, for campus-based fellowships, graduate research fellowship (formerly block grant) support, teaching assistantships and graduate student researcher positions. Recommendations for admission are forwarded to the Dean of Graduate Studies for final approval of admission. Notification of admissions decisions will be sent by Graduate Studies.

Advising Committee

The Advising Committee will be composed of the student's major professor, the Graduate adviser (wing chair) and selected faculty in the student's concentration and the department chair. Upon entering the graduate program, students will meet with the (Interim) Major Professor, to discuss their goals, their previous training, needed training in the general field of anthropology, specific requirements of the graduate program, and available and desirable training within their concentration. Based on these discussions, the student and the (Interim) Major Professor fill out the Entry Evaluation Form, which is signed by the student, the (Interim) Major Professor, and the wing graduate chair. The student and the (Interim) Major Professor meet in the first week of each quarter to determine progress based on the entry evaluation form. They also are expected to meet annually in late spring to review the previous year's work and to propose a tentative program for the year following, thus assuring progress to degree. Full-time students must be enrolled in a minimum of 12 units per quarter, including enrollment in sections of 299 and 396 courses.

Qualifying Examination Committee

The QE Committee consists of a minimum of five faculty members, nominated by the student and the graduate advisor (wing chair) to the Dean of Graduate Studies for formal appointment in accordance with Graduate Council policy. The student's major professor may not serve as Chair of the committee. There must be one member from outside the graduate program.

Dissertation Committee

The Dissertation Committee consists of three members, and is chaired by the student's Major Professor. The Committee is appointed by the Dean of Graduate Studies. The Dissertation Committee guides the dissertation work, and approves the completed dissertation.